Middle Years

Students in the Middle Years (Grade 9 and 10) follow the two-year International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) offered by Cambridge Assessment International Education.

Cambridge International has been offering the IGCSE programme for around 30 years.  The programme attracts over 800,000 entries from around 160 countries. RISS is an approved Cambridge International examination centre.

The culturally-sensitive curriculum is designed for an international context and encourages multilingualism while avoiding cultural bias. The students are helped to develop an informed curiosity and a lasting passion for learning, combining clear and defined content with developing skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem-solving.

The Cambridge International learner profile encourages confident, responsible, reflective, innovative, engaged and confident learners. Teachers are specifically encouraged to use a variety of mental processes and resources, with both cognitive and effective resources to improve learning. There is an emphasis on engaging students in their learning through active learning and metacognition, using learner-centred and inquiry-based approaches to learning.

The combination of IGCSE coursework, practical assessments, as well as written and oral tasks, allows students to demonstrate their learning in a variety of ways.  Some IGCSE subjects (eg. Coordinated Science, Maths, English as a Second Language) can be studied at either Extended or Core level. These options allow students to achieve their potential: Extended (grades A*-G) and Core (grades C-G).

RISS students can also be entered for an International Certificate of Education (ICE) award.  In order to obtain an ICE award, a student should study at least seven subjects, including two languages, from five different areas. The ICE award provides recognition of a student’s broad and balanced academic study.

Subject Choices

All IGCSE students (2021-2023) will study between six and ten IGCSE subjects, plus four non-IGCSE subjects.

  • Subjects in columns 1-4 are compulsory non-IGCSE subjects.
  • Subjects in columns 5-11 are compulsory IGCSE subjects.
  • Subjects in columns 12-13 are optional subjects.



For more information please contact the Head of Middle Years: 

Melanie Ward